Is Neocate Kosher?

Q: Our family keeps kosher, and we just found out that my child needs to be on Neocate and Duocal. I know some formulas aren’t kosher, can you tell me if your products are?

A: Neocate Infant has been certified kosher pareve since 2013. Read more to learn about Neocate Infant DHA/ARA Kosher status. Neocate Junior, Unflavored has been certified Kosher Pareve since May 2018. Customers can contact Neocate Nutrition Services team to request a copy of the certificates.

Nutricia has not sought official kosher certification for other Neocate products or Duocal at this time. However, the Kashrut Division of the London Beth Din (KLBD), an independent, leading authority on kosher food and Jewish Law, informally recognizes some of Nutricia’s other products as kosher-appropriate. That is not the same as kosher certification. All Neocate powdered products are made in our dedicated, 100% dairy protein-free facility.

You can search the KLBD UK online database to see how Nutricia products or their equivalent are listed in the database with the following results:

Nutricia product: US Kosher status: Search term: Search results and Notes:
Neocate® Infant DHA/ARA Certified Kosher Pareve

“neocate”

Neocate LCP (in the UK) and Neocate DHA/ARA (in the US) are both certified kosher pareve by the KLBD.
Contact our Nutrition Services team to request a copy of the KLBD certificate for this product.
Neocate® Syneo® Infant Not certified

“neocate”

Neocate Syneo Infant is made in the same facility and has the same ingredients as Neocate Infant DHA/ARA, plus added prebiotics and probiotics. However, at this time Neocate Syneo Infant has not been certified.
Neocate® Junior Unflavored is Certified Kosher Pareve

Other flavors not certified

“neocate”

Neocate Junior, Unflavored in the US has been certified kosher pareve by KLBD.
Contact our Nutrition Services team to request a copy of the KLBD certificate for this product.

Other Neocate products for children are made in the same facility and have been informally Pareve – Approved by KLBD. However, at this time only the Unflavored version of Neocate Junior has been certified.

Neocate® Splash Not certified

“elemental”

Elemental 028 liquid in the UK is similar to Neocate Splash and made in the same facility and has been informally Pareve – Approved by KLBD. However, at this time Neocate Splash has not been certified.
Neocate® Nutra Not certified

“neocate”

Neocate Spoon in the UK is the same as Neocate Nutra and has been informally Pareve – Approved by KLBD. However, at this time Neocate Nutra has not been certified.
Duocal® Not certified

“duocal”

Duocal powder in the UK is similar to Duocal, is made in the same facility, and has been informally Pareve – Approved by KLBD. However, at this time Duocal has not been certified.

We will continue to evaluate the decision to have other Nutricia products certified kosher, especially as we receive questions from our customers. Neocate Infant and Junior are made in the same facility as all other powdered Neocate products using many of the same ingredients from the same suppliers, none derived from milk or dairy.

Some customers ask specific questions about taurine, an ingredient in Neocate products. Most commercial products use natural taurine, derived from pork, which is NOT kosher. We use synthetic taurine, which is kosher-appropriate.

None of the Neocate products are certified kosher for passover. We’re not experts in what foods or ingredients qualify as chametz or kitniyot, so the best thing to do would be to contact your Rabbi to discuss this with them. It may help to know that none of the Neocate products use ingredients derived from wheat. Both Neocate Splash and Neocate Nutra are gluten free based on regularly testing. All Neocate products use carbohydrates that are highly refined and derived from corn (and Neocate Nutra includes highly refined rice starch). If you are interested in using one of our products and are concerned about the kosher status, you can share the information above with your Rabbi. 

Kosher and Food Allergies

You can look for the kosher symbol on a product, which is usually some variation on the letter U or K. This indicates that the food has been inspected by a kosher-certifying body. If it has a “D” or the word “dairy” next to it, this means that it either contains dairy or was made on shared equipment with dairy. If the kosher symbol has an “m” or the word “meat” next to it, this product contains meat or was made on shared equipment with meat. Finally, if it has “pareve” written next to it, it contains neither milk nor meat, and was made on dedicated equipment that is not used with dairy or meat. (Fish is commonly classified as “neutral” or “pareve” so keep this in mind if your little one has fish/shellfish allergies.)

Don’t forget that kosher labels may not always take cross-contamination into account so it’s possible that there are traces of milk proteins in a product even though it is not labeled as “dairy.” So if something has a kosher symbol listing “meat” or “pareve,” you should still read the ingredients closely or call the manufacturer and not assume it is 100% dairy-free.

For even more information about food allergies and keeping kosher visit our friend Tamar’s blog Kosher With Food Allergies.

Last updated October 31, 2018

Published: 10/12/2017
Comments
Write a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 

Join Neocate Footsteps

Whether you are new to food allergies and want to get to know our products, or you need help with a lifestyle change, for new ideas to .

Join Neocate Footsteps

Nutrition
 
The Gut Microbiota and Its Link With Food Allergies

Lately, we can’t seem to get away from talk about microbes and gut microbiota. With terms like microbiota, fermented foods, prebiotics, probiotics, antibiotic resistance being used often – it’s enough to make your head spin! The good news is, we’re…

Continue Reading
 
Related Content
   
 
X

The content you are trying to access is intended for healthcare professionals only.

Are you a healthcare professional?